Country flags for UK, Spain, Germany, France, China and Italy Speedy Booker Partner Sites

The French Way - Camino de Santiago

Camino de Santiago (The way of St.James)

Saint Jean Pied-de-Port
Santiago de Compostela

One of only two Pilgrim Walks in the world with UNESCO heritage status, the world-renowned Camino de Santiago, known in English as The Way of St James, incorporates a network of routes leading to the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in the Spanish town of Galicia, and the shrine of the apostle Saint James the Great. 

The route encompasses coastal paths and stunning beach scenes, rugged mountains and hills, forests, fields and country plains as well as historic towns such as Pamplona.  

The extent of Caminos across Europe provides Pilgrims with pathways delivering travellers from as far as Poland, Turkey or Finland enroute to northern Spain.

The most common and popular route - the French Way starts in St Jean Pied du-Port before quickly crossing into Spain. A raft of routes from across the rest of Europe typically meet at St Jean Pied du Port so travellers can continue their journey along the Camino Frances. 

Enjoying spectacular and varied scenery as well as the most abundant infrastructure to aid walkers enroute, the Camino Frances is recognised on the UNESCO World Heritage List. The 790km route passes through many cultural and historic towns including Leon, Burgos and Pamplona.

Share this pilgrimage

This website uses cookies. Click here to read our Privacy Policy.
If that’s okay with you, just keep browsing. CLOSE